Why I am not a Tea Partier

In 1773 the sons of liberty preformed the illegal act of stealing a shipment of tea and dumping it into a harbor in order to protest taxes. Today, under the standard of low taxes a movement has grown up adopting the imagery of the Boston tea party in order to protest “big government.” I do not fall in with the ranks of tea partiers for a few reasons.

When the tea party movement first started I was initially excited; for a few politicians I liked were of the same camp of some teapartiers. I thought this movement was a step in the right direction, a step toward ending abortion and other morally bankrupt policies; but this was unfortunately not the case. I am staunchly against abortion, it is the most important issue in American politics. I would rather have a government that has absolutely horrible fiscal policy then one that kills children The reason I adhere to this so strongly is if indeed abortion is murder, then every issue pales in comparison! Economic collapse and out of control spending could be important, but in comparison with the life of a human being they are nothing! The reason this prevents me from being a tea partier is that some of the candidates pushed by the tea party movement support the evil of abortion. When Scott Brown was elected in the normally blue state of Massachusetts at first I was pleased! But upon research I discovered that this candidate was strongly pro choice. The tea party in the name of fiscal responsibility does nothing to stop the most grievous violation of human rights in our nation.

This movement makes me uneasy because it seems to me that conservatives (the majority of this movement) are putting the real issues on the back burner in order to have lower taxes. Once again we are sacrificing our children on the revolting altar of mammon. We care more for our wallet then our children. I cannot support a movement that accepts evil in order for a more productive society. Another claim made by many is that the tea party movement is bringing God back to our nation. Indeed many of the tea party supporters emphatically state that we need to run back to God. But what is the motivation of these proclamations? The verse usually cited (often taken out of context) calls us to God so he will “heal our land.” But in my experience, those who cite this verse are not motivated by a spiritual healing, rather an economic one. They want God because they want economic recovery, not because they desire him. Our prayer should not be “God heal our nation’s debt problem” or “God save our credit score.” We should be praying, pleading to God to BRING a recession if that is what brings him glory! The tea party movement seems to me to be more about pursuing a “successful” life rather than throwing our lives away for the gospel. It is no surprise that this movement is championed by the nationalistic universalist mormon Glenn Beck. The motivation is entirely selfish.

I want to clarify what I am saying here. I understand that there are some in this movement who are strong Christians. I also understand that this movement could possibly get people in office who may try to end the horrible mass murder in our nation, but I cannot with a good conscience ascribe to movement that I so disagree with.

Please feel free to comment if you wish to discuss this issue more!

6 thoughts on “Why I am not a Tea Partier

  1. MichaelEdits August 26, 2011 / 11:35 PM

    The most important issue is ensuring that governments do not legislate morality. That’s not their job.

    • Luke Brake August 26, 2011 / 11:41 PM

      What is the job of the government? What is it the government can legislate if not morality?

  2. troy August 27, 2011 / 1:22 AM

    The government is to protect its peoples. Morality is the gift God gives every human, if they will just choose to use it. The government is not God. Morality is higher than simple government.

    • Luke Brake August 27, 2011 / 11:27 PM

      So here is why I hold to my position that the government ought to uphold morality.

      The government’s act of protecting its people is a moral decision. It is stating that death, slavery, or oppression is wrong. The very fact that we have a 15th amendment shows that we believe it is wrong to give the right to vote to one man and deny it to another. Most governmental decisions, even down to traffic laws, are making a moral statement. Government is a means of administering and upholding morality.
      While the Government is not God, the Lord has established the governing authorities (Romans 13) and they have been given the authority to uphold morality.

      I would love to hear your thoughts on this!

  3. Logan Torve September 17, 2011 / 9:56 PM

    Luke this article is absolutely amazing! And great point on the legislation of morality. I agree with you 100% you nailed it!

Leave a Comment! Give that Push Door a Pull!

